B e f o r e S u n s e t: The Movie


Image

I watched this movie as well as it’s predecessor, Before Sunrise, a few years ago.  Though I enjoyed both movies, I appreciated Before Sunrise a lot more.  In retrospect, I think it’s because of where I was in life at the time, but mostly because I didn’t pay Before Sunset enough attention.  It had a LOT of dialogue and really requires your full attention. It came on cable the other night…really late, and I had insomnia so I figured I’d watch it again.  I’m so glad I did because I learned something….or rather, watching it reinforced something that I already know subconsciously.  

Sidebar:  This is an awesome, well thought-out movie.  I did some research and discovered that Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, the stars of both movies, actually wrote much of their own dialogue for Before Sunset. What is additionally interesting is that Ethan was going through his divorce with Uma Thurman at the time….I found this to be even more insightful.  The movie shows them catching up with each other, about 10 years after the events of Before Sunrise.  I won’t discuss it in detail in case anyone hasn’t seen it, but I thought it was one of the sweetest things that Ethan’s character states that he wrote a book, hoping to find Julie’s character again.  That is…..kind of like an essence of love, isn’t it?  It’s a great film to me because of how well it captures the thoughts and feelings one experiences after they have “lived” a little.  If you are in your mid-thirties to mid-forties, this film will really resonate with you if you’ve ever been married, been in a serious relationship, and especially if you’ve ever truly loved someone. You really see pain, confusion, epiphanies, anger, and caring from them and between them – awesome acting and awesome dialogue…just be sure to pay attention!  I found myself saying, so many times while watching it the other night, “OMG – I have been THERE – I KNOW that feeling!”  You really have to go through some things in order to really appreciate the place that love can have in your life- sometimes when you meet that person, the time isn’t right…sometimes YOU are not “right” (mentally and emotionally). I don’t want to give the ending away, but here is what the UK’s Guardian wrote about it: “Before Sunrise/Before Sunset is the number three best romantic film of all time, and the ending of Before Sunset is one of the most tantalis(z)ing and ingenious endings in all cinema.” And guess what? They will do a sequel, 9 years after, which means that we can look forward to what happened in Before Sunset in 2013!

So going back to what I was saying about subconscious things being reinforced and brought to the surface…there is always that one person in your life whom you can’t forget, whom you will always love, who just…does it for you! And no one else in life whom you may ever come across ever compares or measures up to this person – the feelings you have for this person can never be matched.  When you find that person, for the rest of your life you will compare everyone you ever date (or even get married to) to this person, and one day, you just might get the courage to go after them…you might even write a book, as Ethan’s character did, hoping to find her/him!

Don’t let it be years and years…don’t waste precious time! If someone just does it for you – if you find that no matter what you do or where you go in life that this woman/man remains on your mind and in your heart, then realize that you’ve found the rare friendship, chemistry, and love that people talk about, wishing they could find…..you are one of the lucky ones. And, you won’t be able to be truly, completely happy until you, at the very least, find them and tell them that this is how you feel. So what are you still doing sitting there reading this? GO GET HER/HIM!  I promise you it will be worth the effort – good things are worth fighting for.

🙂

Leave a Reply

